Installing Fantastico on cPanel

ATTENTION USERS OF Fedora Core 5 or 6 or CentOS 5 or Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5!

Before installing Fantastico you must replace the buggy version of wget that ships with your OS or Fantastico will not install. After you fix this you can continue with the installation process:

http://netenberg.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5430

If you have some other OS installed on your server you do not need to do this and can continue with the standard installation directions below.

SSH to your server(s) and enter following commands:

Code:

cd /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/docroot/cgi
wget -N http://files.betaservant.com/files/free/fantastico_whm_admin.tgz
tar -xzpf fantastico_whm_admin.tgz
rm -rf fantastico_whm_admin.tgz
NOTE: if you have problems contacting this server, please try this alternate location:
wget -N http://netenberg.com/files/free/fantastico_whm_admin.tgz

Now go to WHM, login as root and follow the link
WHM -> Add-Ons (Plugins on v11.x or higher) -> Fantastico De Luxe WHM Admin (scroll down the left menu).

Upon loading, Fantastico De Luxe WHM Admin will auto-update your existing installation (if existing). All admin files (masterfiles, tarballs, settings etc) will be moved to or created at /var/netenberg.


After the installation is complete, click on “Settings” and go through the settings. While some settings are not important, some other (marked below with an *) are essential for a proper functioning of Fantastico installations.
Language: Select the language for the admin backend AND default language for users without a language selected.
Email notifications: Enter an email address in order to receive notifications when users perform installations using Fantastico.
Master files settings (*): If you are not an advanced user who modifies the master files, leave this to “Remove”. Change this only if you know what you are doing FPRIVATE “TYPE=PICT;ALT=Cheesy”
PHPsuexec (*): VERY ESSENTIAL!!! Changing this value will not install or de-install phpsuexec for you. It will only tell Fantastico that you have phpsuexec installed or not installed on your server. Change to “installed” if you perform installations which produce an “Internal Server Error”. Notice: Changes will not apply to existing installations! You have to re-install in order to have working installations.
Path to netPBM: Enter the full path to the netPBM binaries in order to enable Gallery installations. As long as this field has no value, your users will not be able to install Gallery.
Select Fantastico licensing and files server: If the Fantastico pages take long to load switch to the server that works best for you. Fantastico will auto-switch if connections time out.
Update preference: Select latest version (sometimes experimental) or stable version (best working).

Remote MySQL server
Open the file
/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/fantastico/includes/mysqlconfig.php
and follow the instructions.
Also read these:
http://netenberg.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=866
http://netenberg.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=11482#11482

If your users don’t see a Fantastico link in their CPanel: Go to WHM and edit the “default” Features List. Activate Fantastico.

Having problems? PLEASE READ THIS:
http://netenberg.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1551

Also, before posting to the forums, check the Fantastico section. The first postings are announcements and “stickies” which handle common issues and the most current postings (below the stickies) discuss current problems/issues.

The “search” function of the forum is your biggest help when you are searching for solution to a particular problem. Well defined search terms will help you get the best results.

38 thoughts on “Installing Fantastico on cPanel

  1. Right here is the perfect web site for everyone who
    would like to find out about this topic. You know so much its almost tough to argue with you (not
    that I actually would want to…HaHa). You certainly put a new spin on a topic that’s been discussed for ages.
    Excellent stuff, just wonderful!

  2. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this fantastic
    blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this site with my Facebook group.

    Talk soon!

  3. Howdy would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m going to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a tough time making a decision
    between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs
    and I’m looking for something completely unique.

    P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  4. You can certainly seee your sƙolls within the article you write.
    The sector hopes for evcen more passionate writers like үou
    who are nߋt afraid to mentioո ɦow they believe.
    At all timеs ggo after your heart.

  5. I have read so many articles or reviews on the topic of the blogger
    lovers but this article is in fact a nice post, keep it up.

  6. May I simply just say what a relief to uncover an individual who
    actually knows what they are talking about on the web. You certainly realize how to bring an issue to light and make it important.
    More people have to check this out and understand this side of your
    story. It’s surprising you’re not more popular because you surely have the gift.

  7. We are a gaggle of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community.
    Your site provided us with valuable information to work on.
    You’ve done an impressive process and our entire neighborhood can be grateful to you.

  8. ңello, Neat post. There iss a ρroblem tоgether wіth уoսr web site
    іn internet explorer, сould check tɦis? ΙE still iѕ tҺe
    market leader ɑnd a huge component to other people wіll miss yoսr wonderful writing Ьecause of thiѕ prߋblem.

  9. Hello, i feel that i saw you visited my blog thus i came to go back the prefer?.I’m trying to to find issues to enhance my
    web site!I suppose its adequate to use a few of
    your ideas!!

  10. I just like the valuable info you provide to your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and test once more here regularly.

    I am reasonably certain I’ll be told lots of new stuff
    right right here! Good luck for the next!

  11. I have been exploring for a little bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts in this
    sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon
    this web site. Studying this info So i’m satisfied to convey that I have a very just right uncanny feeling I came upon just what I needed.
    I most unquestionably will make certain to do not put out of your mind
    this website and provides it a look on a continuing basis.

  12. hey there and thank you for your info – I’ve certainly picked up something new from
    right here. I did however expertise several technical issues using this
    website, since I experienced to reload the website a lot of times previous to I could get it to load correctly.

    I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and can damage
    your high-quality score if ads and marketing
    with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for a lot more of your respective fascinating content.
    Ensure that you update this again soon.

  13. Jսst wish to say yߋur article is as amazing.
    Tɦe clarity in ʏour put up іs simply cool аnd i could assume үou’гe аn
    expert inn tɦis subject. Fiine аlonɡ wіth your permission lеt me to gras your feed to kеep uup
    tο dаte with approaching post. Τhank ƴou ߋne million
    aոd pleɑse carry on the rewarding work.

  14. hello there and thank you for your info – I’ve certainly picked up something
    new from right here. I did however expertise some technical points using this web site, as I experienced to reload the site many times previous to I could
    get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK?
    Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and could damage your high-quality score if ads and
    marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for a lot more of
    your respective exciting content. Ensure that you update this again very soon.

  15. Good post. I learn something new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon everyday.
    It will always be interesting to read articles from other
    authors and use a little something from other websites.

  16. Thank you, I have recently been searching for info about this topic for a while
    and yours is the best I’ve found out till now.

    But, what in regards to the bottom line? Are you positive about the supply?

  17. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again
    soon!

  18. I was suggested this website by way of my cousin. I am now not
    sure whether this post is written by way of him as no one else
    recognise such special approximately my trouble. You’re incredible!
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

